December 2, 2019

Misleading Miss Verity

Misleading Miss Verity is the latest from Carolyn Miller.  Verity is the youngest daughter in the Hatherleigh clan.  Verity quite often makes decisions that do not agree with her Viscount father.  After she makes a very bad choice at school, her parents send her to stay with her grandmother.  Who in turn decides to send Verity to visit a close school friend in the highlands of Scotland.  You will not believe what happens next!

After serving as a curate in New South Wales, Anthony Jardine is newly arrived in Scotland.  Anthony has returned to take his place as the new laird of Dungally.  Trying to keep his identity under wraps until he gets the lay of the land, Anthony has presented himself as a simple gardener!

Anthony and Verity are immediately drawn toward each other; however, they do not know how to make the other fit into their world.  Anthony sees Verity as a very young girl, who has no faith in his God and Verity sees Anthony as a man of low rank, who will never be excepted in her society!

Hold on to see what will become of Verity and Anthony by the final page of this tale!

I received a copy of this book from Kregel Publications in exchange for my unbiased review.

November 24, 2019

Protecting Tanner Hollow

I enjoyed reading Lynette Eason's latest, Protecting Tanner Hollow.  This book contains four novellas that tell a bit of suspense that takes place in the sleepy town of Tanner Hollow!

These four tales Lethal Homecoming, Lethal Conspiracy, Lethal Secrets and Lethal Agenda are loosely connected.  Some of the characters in the first tale are brought through the remaining stories.

This book tells about how the citizens of this town come together to assist their neighbors in times of need!

I received this e-book from Revell in exchange for my honest review.

November 20, 2019

Christmas at Whitefriars

Elizabeth Camden offers a holiday novella, Christmas at Whitefriars.  This short story will tell of the life of Mary Beckwith, a young woman living in the countryside of England, who is fearful to take a step away from anything she holds dear.  When Mary  meets Everett Wooten, a millionaire from America, her life is sure to change!

Everett has hangups of his own.  Watch as these two learn to adjust and hopefully find a way to move forward together!

This a a fun tale to take you through the holiday season!

November 12, 2019

The Thief of Lanwyn Manor

Sarah E. Ladd's recent book, The Thief of Lanwyn Manor, is a tale full of unknowns on every page.  The year is 1818 and Julia Twethewey has traveled to Lanwyn Manor to quietly await the birth of her cousin Jane's baby, but these are not to be quiet days.  Instead, Julia's time seems to be full of mysteries yet to be solved!

Julia had wanted to use this time to recover from a recent breakup; however, after she meets Matthew and Isaac Blake, her days seem to be filled up with much different activity.  Her aunt wants her to make a match with Matthew, the owner of the copper mine, Wheal Tamsen; however, Julia's heart is drawn toward Isaac!

Isaac, as the second son, does not have access to the wealth of the family, but he has gained much knowledge concerning the operation of the mine.  He hopes to one day have the operation of his own mine.  Until that day arrives, Isaac will faithfully assist his brother.  When expensive items are found to be missing at Lanwyn Manor, Julia's aunt places the blame on her.  When Isaac and Julia try to discover who the real culprit is behind these thefts, you will not believe what they discover!

I received this book from Thomas Nelson through Netgalley in exchange for my honest review.

November 5, 2019

Legacy of Love

Kristi Ann Hunter has added, Legacy of Love, a second novella to her Haven Manor series.  When Sarah Gooding performs a kind deed for the elderly Dowager Countess of Densbury, she soon finds herself with a new job to perform: companion to this sweet woman!

In the midst of Sarah's duties, she crosses paths with the Dowager's youngest grandson, Randall Everand. Sarah finds it hard to keep her thoughts and eyes off this handsome young man; however, she does not feel like she is on the same financial plane as Randall!

When Randall comes to his grandmother's home to spend time with her before the holidays, he has no idea what event will soon take place.  Hold on to see what happens that will change the lives of both Sarah and Randall!

I received a copy of this book from Bethany House through NetGalley. Opinions expressed in this review are completely my own.

November 1, 2019

Always Look Twice

On the opening pages of Elizabeth Goddard's latest tale, Always Look Twice, you will sense the suspense that fills the pages of this book.  Harper Reynolds is in Jackson Hole, Wyoming, taking photographs of the nature that fills the Bridger-Teton National Forest.  As Harper is focused on taking a photo of a grizzly bear, out of the corner of her eye, she sees a flash of pink, it is a woman who seems to be running for her life.  Harper also sees a brief image of a man with a gun, who suddenly takes a shot at the woman.  When Harper sees the woman fall to the ground, she runs for her own life!

The next person Harper encounters is Heath McKade, who is leading a group of tourists through the forest.  Heath, being a former Green Beret, heard the shot and came running.  Little did he know he would encounter Harper, a friend he had not seen since grade-school.  Now she is a full-grown beautiful woman!

Heath and Harper soon team-up to try to discover what actually happened in the forest.  The situation gets more complicated when explosions start happening around town.  Are they connected?  Hang on to see what Heath and Harper finally discover, and if their former friendship will grow into something even greater!

I received this book from Revell in exchange for my honest review.

October 29, 2019


Jody Hedlund brings her Lost Princesses series to a close with a splash.  Hereafter will fill in details about what has been happening in Emmeline's life.  This princess has been living deep in the forest of Mercia.  Emmaline's adoptive parents have told her the truth about the fate of her actual parents and she has been trained to always be cautious of strangers.  However, one day this training is all for naught, when Prince Ethelrex, son of King Ethelwulf, suddenly enters her world!

After Emmeline runs out of her family's cottage in a moment of anger, she returns to that find her adoptive parents have been captured by Prince Ethelrex.  Emmeline feels like her only choice to save her parents is to place herself into the prince's hands!

Emmeline's father, a former elite soldier, has trained Emmeline in tactics she can use to protect herself.  You soon will see Emmeline make an attempt to escape. However, the prince, also being an elite soldier, recaptures her and brings her back to his camp.  Before you know it, the prince seals the deal by insisting a wedding ceremony be performed!

At this point, you have been prepared for an exciting tale.  You know that by the final page, Hereafter will come to a grand conclusion!

I received a copy of this book from the author, in exchange for my honest review.