December 26, 2011

Daily Gifts of Grace - devotions for each day of your year

This is a great little book, whether you need a gift to give a friend or a bit of encouragemnent to start your day.

The pages of this book are filled with words of wisdom from many well-known Christian women.

I received this book  from Thomas Nelson in exchange for my unbiased review

December 12, 2011


Smitten is a great collection of novellas from four wonderful authors (Collen Coble, Kristen Billerbeck, Diann Hunt and Denise Hunter).

When the mill closes in Smitten, Vermont, the economy and health of the town is at risk.  Smitten tells the story of four friends who band together to save their town.  Natalie, Julia, Shelby and Reese have a plan to transform Smitten, Vermont from a lumber town to a tourist destination for a romantic getaway.  You learn the story of each woman's past as well as their effort to save this town that they love.

November 5, 2011

Here Burns My Candle

If you are a lover of history, Here Burns My Candle by Liz Curtis Higgs is the book for you!!!  Liz fills the pages of this book with so many details that it seems you are there with the characters.

This story of Lady Elizabeth Kerr begins in the year 1745 in Edinburgh, Scotland.  You experience all her losses during this crazy period of history yet you also experience the awakening of her soul to an awesome God. 

It took some time to journey through these 454 pages but I am more than ready to continue this story in Mine is the Night!!!

October 20, 2011

Lonestar Angel

Lonestar Angel had me from the first pages.  Eden and Clay's daughter was kidnapped as an infant.  Eden thought she had died, but Clay had received a clue that she was alive.

The story never slowed down as they raced across the country in their search.  It made me want to keep reading to discover the answer. 

The Lonestar Series by Colleen Coble is a series you don't want to miss.

I received this book  from Thomas Nelson in exchange for my unbiased review

October 15, 2011

The Lightkeeper's Ball

I have enjoyed the Mercy Falls series by Colleen Coble.  This latest installment, The Lightkeeper's Ball, did not disappoint.

Throughout this novel, Coble throws out clues that the reader can use to answer the questions that the storyline introduces.

The conclusion to the story is one that the reader may not guess.  Coble keeps you reading page after page.  Though the book comes to an abrupt ending, you will enjoy every page!!!

I received this book  from Thomas Nelson in exchange for my unbiased review

Pirate of My Heart

I have read several of Jaime Carie's novels.  I have enjoyed reading them all!  Pirate of My Heart did not disappoint.  Very easy to read and the continual action had me turning page after page.

I received this book from B&H Publishing Group in exchange for my unbiased review.

August 21, 2011

Right from the Heart

Reading this daily devotional book from Bryant Wright is a great way to start your day!!!    It takes just a few minutes to read the entry for each day.  Our lives get so filled up with "our stuff" that we sometimes forget to set our eyes on the awesome God who made it all possible.

This is a great book for personal use or a gift that can encourage someone else!

Bryant Wright is the senior pastor at Johnson Ferry Baptist Church in northwest Atlanta

I received this book for free from Thomas Nelson in exchange for my unbiased review

June 14, 2011

The Inconvenient Marriage of Charlotte Beck

This novel begins in 1887 in London, England.  Charlotte Beck is a young American woman visiting her grandfather and being prepared for her first social events in both New York and London. 

You immediately sense that Charlotte does not enjoy all that is required to look like and act like a “lady”.  What she really desires is to go to school and then work for and with her father back in America.

This book is full of fun tales as you follow Charlotte through the next years of her life.  She ends up in a place she never imagined!     

June 10, 2011

A Vision of Lucy

The story of the people of Rocky Creek continues in this third book of Margaret Brownley's newest series.  A Vision of Lucy picks up where A Suitor For Jenny concluded.  It was fun to revisit some of the characters from the first two stories in this series.

This third book has a much faster pace than the first as the reader is trying to find the answer to the question "who is David Wolf?".  Many additional questions surface as you move through these pages.  All are answered by the time you reach the final page.

I received this book for free from Thomas Nelson in exchange for my unbiased review

April 17, 2011

Unleased: Release the Untamed Faith Within

Unleased: Release the Untamed Faith Within

When I received Unleased: Release the Untamed Faith Within to review, I found that it is a reprint of the Barbarian Way.   I heard Erwin McManus speak about 10 years ago; so much of the material was familiar to me.  It was great to revisit Erwin’s encouragement that Christians are not called to a life of no problems and safety as followers of Jesus Christ.   We are called instead to a life full of unknowns and risks.  This is a life where we are not in control but rather our faith is placed in God’s complete control of the details.  As we walk the path God has placed before us, we can develop a deeper intimacy with Jesus Christ.

Erwin describes a barbarian Christian simply as someone “who loves to live and lives to love”.

I received this book for free from Thomas Nelson in exchange for my unbiased review