March 24, 2013

The House That Love Built

The House That Love Built, Large Print  -     
        By: Beth Wiseman

The House that Love Built by Beth Wiseman takes place in Smithville, Texas.  Brooke Holloway runs the local hardware store in this small town.  She is still having trouble adjusting to her husband’s absence following his death two years ago.

Owen Saunders has fled the big city to start over following his divorce.  The small town of Smithville seems just the place.  He has purchased an old mansion and intends to restore it to its former glory.  

Owen’s and Brooke’s paths are sure to cross in this interesting tale of how these two begin to recover from tremendous losses in their lives!

I Received this book from Thomas Nelson in exchange for my unbiased review

March 23, 2013

Take a Chance on Me

In Take a Chance on Me by Susan May Warren, Ivy Madison enters Deep Haven, Minnesota feeling that she has finally come home.  Ivy has been passed through many foster homes in her life.  She feels like Deep Haven is a place where she can finally put down some roots.

The first person Ivy meets upon arriving in town is Darek Christiansen.  He is the prize, when she bids on him at a charity event.  She sees that he is a handsome bachelor; but has no idea of the bitterness this man is carrying about his former wife.   The anger, The anger that he has for Jenson his best friend who caused her death that he has for Jenson, his best friend, who caused his wife's death, has allowed the bitterness to control Darek.

This book is written in a way that you feel part of the events in this small town.  The relationships are so full of color.  First, there is the new and growing relationship between Ivy and Darek.  Then you learn about the older, yet growing relationship between Jensen and Claire.  Finally, you see the beautiful  relationship between Darek and his young son, Tiger.  You will meet so many interesting individuals in Deep Haven.

The story comes to a head in the final pages of this book as a fire nears and threatens to consume this sweet town.  You will not be able to put this book down as you read page after page rushing to the conclusion!
I received this book from Tyndale House Publishers in exchange for my unbiased review

Wishing on Willows

Wishing on Willows    -     
        By: Katie Ganshert

When I began reading Wishing on Willows by Kate Ganshert, it seemed like I missed the first part of the story! 
I think I need to go back and read Wildflowers from Winter which is the first book in this series, to be able to put all the pieces of the storyline together.  This book was difficult for me to read as it kept jumping back to the past frequently and I was not familiar with the back story.

This story had a nice ending which redeemed the reading experience for me!

I received this book from Waterbrook Multnomah in exchange for my unbiased review

March 20, 2013

The Heiress of Winterwood

Heiress of Winterwood, Whispers on the Moors Series #1  -     
        By: Sarah E. Ladd

The Heiress of Winterwood is the debut novel of Sarah Ladd.  This tale takes place in England in 1814.

Amelia Barrett will retain her father’s estate if she marries before her 24th birthday.  The only complication is that her fiancĂ©, Edward Littleton, wants nothing to do with young Lucy, the child she has been caring for since the babe’s mother, Katherine’s death.  Amelia decides to take matters into her own hands when Lucy’s father, Captain Graham Sterling, returns from sea.  She asks Graham to marry her!

The story gets very complicated from this point on.  Once Graham decides to move forward with Amelia’s plan, everyone becomes enraged!  Amelia’s aunt and uncle and her cousin, who have been living with her since her father’s death, feel like she has lost her mind.  He fiancĂ©, Edward, cannot understand either.

The evening following Amelia and Graham’s engagement celebration brings a new catastrophe.   The baby and her nurse have been kidnapped!!!!

Hang on as this tale gets more complicated than ever!

 I Received this book from Thomas Nelson in exchange for my unbiased review

March 2, 2013

Dandelions on the Wind

Dandelions on the Wind (Quilted Hearts, #1)

Dandelions on the Wind is the newest novella by Mona Hodgson.

Maria Jensen arrived in America as a mail-order bride.  She was excited about her upcoming wedding; however, her groom turns her away when he learns that she is slowly losing her eyesight.

Maria next finds a home with Elsa Brantenberg caring for her young granddaughter Gabi on her Missouri farm.  Maria joins Elsa and Gabi as they wait for Gabi’s father to return from war.

When Rutherford finally returns home, it is an adjustment for everyone!

Join Maria on this journey to learn about Rutherford and discover if she still has a place with this family!
I received this book from Waterbrook Multnomah in exchange for my unbiased review