December 29, 2014

Beyond All Dreams


















Beyond All Dreams is the latest novel by Elizabeth Camden.  You meet Anna O'Brien on the first pages of this book.

Your heart immediately goes out to Anna, who seems to have been struggling her entire life.  She is currently working quietly as a map librarian in the Library of Congress.  When she meets Luke Callahan, the young congressman from Maine, this story takes on a new life!


Luke seeks Anna's assistance in his attempt to secretly thwart the Speaker of the House.  Anna unknowingly assists Luke with this task.  So when Anna discovers a mystery concerning her father's death at sea, she knows she must seek assistance from someone with more clout than she has.  She immediately thinks of Luke Callahan!

Beyond All Dreams is a lively tale that keeps you guessing until the very end.  Hang on for this fun ride with Anna and Luke!


 I received this book from Bethany House in exchange for my unbiased review


December 26, 2014

Here To Stay


















In Melissa Tagg's latest book, Here to Stay, you will meet Autumn Kingsley and Blake Hunziker.

Autumn is ready to leave her hometown of Whisper Shore to live and work in Paris, France: a place where she has always dreamed of living.  Blake is returning home to Whisper Shore, after four years of running, following his brother's tragic death.

Autumn and Blake team up to put on the town's annual Christmas festival.  Blake has agreed to help Autumn repair her inn, in hopes she can sell it.  Autumn will help Blake prepare for and put on Whisper Shore's festival, in hopes that people will gladly welcome him back to town after his past misdeeds!

God is at work in both of their lives both to heal past hurts and to grow new dreams!

This was an enjoyable read.  I was touched by the storyline about how Blake deals with the circumstances surrounding his brother's death.






December 17, 2014

Price of Privilege


Price of Privilege by Jessica Dotta is the final book in the Price of Privilege Trilogy.  This book was as difficult for me to read as the first two books were; however, this story surprisingly brought me to tears in the final pages!

The trilogy tells the tale of Julia Elliston's life.  This third book begins with Julia newly married to Edward Auburn, her childhood friend.  The brilliance of the first days of their wedded life turns dark, when Edward's family refuses to acknowledge them as man and wife.

Julia and Edward begin searching for a new place to live.  They end up at her father, Lord Pierson's home in London.  As they are trying to settle into this new home, suddenly their lives are thrown into chaos.  Chance Macy, an evil man from Julia and her father's past, has re-entered the scene!  Macy falsely believes that Julia is his wife, so he is charging Edward as a bigamist and charging Lord Pierson with a civil suit for keeping Julia away from him.

In the midst of this craziness, Julia begins to learn that God can use painful situations to sharpen a believer.  God becomes Julia's anchor on this pain-filled path that she is on.



I received this book from Tyndale House Publishers in exchange for my unbiased review 




December 11, 2014

One December Night


















The recent novella , One December Night, by Melissa Tagg, was an interesting journey to take with a very disillusioned librarian!

Pennilynn Baxter is not quite sure what step to take next in her life.  She thinks her boyfriend,Graham, of two years might be ready to propose; but, instead of going on a date with him, Penn decides to travel to the house she inherited from her grandparents to check out a rumor that someone is squatting on her property!

As Penn enters the house alone, she runs smack into the squatter!  After demanding that the man immediately vacate her premises, Penn finds that this man seems to know too much about her.  Next the story takes an interesting twist.  After Penn learns that this intruder's name is Will, she seems to be slowly becoming friends with this man! 

When Penn finally discovers that Graham hired Will to prepare the house for a future sale, she knows what the next step in her life needs to be: saying goodbye to her boyfriend of 2 years!

This short story leaves you wanting to read the sequel when it comes out to learn how exactly Penn and Will's relationship ends up!

December 7, 2014

A November Bride


















A November Bride, by Beth K. Voyt, is the final book in the A year of wedding novella series.

This book tells the tale of Eric and Sadie, who have been best friends for  the past 13 years.  When all of the sudden Erik decides he wants Sadie to be more than just a friend, the situation becomes very complicated!

This is a fun ride to take as you see these two learn to view each other in a whole new light! 

I received this book from Thomas Nelson in exchange for my unbiased review

December 6, 2014

The Secret of Pembrooke Park



















The Secret of Pembrooke Park, the latest novel by Julie Klaseen, is a story that will keep you turning page after page!

You meet Abigail Foster on page one and feel like you are friends by the end of the book.  Abigail is determined to help her father restore her family's standing, after he suffered great financial loss, because he followed her investment advice.  She helps her father decide to lease an old family home that has not been occupied in 18 years.

Once Abigail and her father arrive at Pembrooke Park, the questions and mystery of the place begin almost immediately.  Why did this family leave with their tea cups still filled with tea?  Abigail comes across questions at every turn!

Enjoy the ride as Abigail attempts to discover everything the secret of Pembrooke Park involves!


I received this book from Bethany House in exchange for my unbiased review.


 




November 29, 2014

The Bracelet



















The Bracelet by Dorothy Love is an intriguing journey into a time in America before the states went to war.

Celia Browning can only dream of the day when Sutton Mackay will return to Savannah, after his time away looking after his family's business interests in Jamaica.

When Sutton does return, he is as handsome as ever!  Now, Celia cannot stop dreaming of the day when Sutton will propose marriage to her.  Unfortunately, a reporter is digging into a mystery from the Browning family's past.  Celia is concerned that a revelation of the truth could ruin her family's reputation and change their lives forever!.

Sit tight as you travel along with Celia while she attempts to solve the mystery before all is revealed!

This latest novel by Dorothy  Love is a must read!


I received this book from Thomas Nelson in exchange for my unbiased review.  

 

November 10, 2014

Love at Mistletoe Inn: A December Wedding Story



















Have you ever made a poor choice as a teenager and have it reach out and bite you as a young adult?  That is the situation that Cindy Kirk presents in Love at Mistletoe Inn, the first novella in the latest A Year Of Weddings series.

Hope Prentiss discovers that her prom-night wedding to John Burke was legitimate, even though she believed the opposite for the past ten years!  What she will do next gets complicated when she comes home to discover John at the kitchen table with her aunt.  The situation gets complicated because their feelings are still the same for both Hope and John!

This is a complicated situation to untangle as both John and Hope try to decide if they will move forward with their marriage, trusting God to bring all things together for good!


I received this book from Thomas Nelson in exchange for my unbiased review  

 

October 17, 2014

An October Bride



















Of all the books in the A Year of Weddings series, I enjoyed An October Bride by Katie Ganshert the most!

This book kept my attention from beginning to end.  You meet Emma Tate at a low point in her life.  After she learns that her father is dying of cancer, she cancels her wedding plans with her fiance.  When Emma discovers that the last entry on her father's 'bucket' list is to walk her down the aisle, she must get in high gear to find another fiance!

Enter Jake Sawyer, a longtime friend of her older brother and her entire family.  Before you know it, Jake has committed to help Emma in her plan to put together a 'fake' wedding plan.

Hang on for this fun and wild ride with Emma and Jake!


I received this book from Thomas Nelson in exchange for my unbiased review


October 15, 2014

The Daughter of Highland Hall


















It was fun to revisit the characters of Highland Hall in this new tale from Carrie Turansky.

In her latest book, The Daughter of Highland Hall, Carrie re-introduces Katherine Ramsey, as she takes her first steps into English society.  Katherine, with her aunt close at her side, is trying to avoid any mistakes.  As you watch her appear before the king and queen of England, you cringe as the crowd stops and stares in silence as Katherine breaks every rule of polite English society!  Katherine must acquire a husband, but she is not having a good start.

When she is introduced to Jonathan Foster, Katherine's life begins to take a route she never expected!  Katherine begins this tale as a girl who thinks only of herself; however, she becomes a woman whose heart is opened to the needs of those around her.

After living in India, as a missionary, for years, Jonathan has returned to England to finish his training to become a doctor.  His plans to return to India change as his eyes are opened to a need of poor in London.  Along the way, his feelings for Katherine further complicate his decision!

You won't believe where both Katherine and Jonathan arrive at the end of this tale! 


I received this book from Waterbrook Multnomah in exchange for my unbiased review


The Covered Deep
















It was great to encounter a new Christian fiction author, when I recently read The Covered Deep by Brandy Vallance.

The author tells the tale of Bianca Marshal.  This young woman has not found anyone to marry in southern Ohio.  When Bianca wins a contest to visit London, as well as the holy land, she has great hopes that she will meet the man God has planned for her!  Before you know it, Bianca meets Paul Emerson, a well-known London historian.  She has no idea what is in store!  When she learns he is a Christian and her feelings begin to grow, she cannot stop planning for a future life with Paul!
You will not believe how complicated this story becomes, when you learn that the aristocrat, who planned this trip, has alternative motives for bringing this group together!

This is an interesting ride around the world in the late 1800's.  You will see an example of the grace that only God can give as Bianca has to deal with tough issues from Paul's past!


I received this book from Worthy Publishing in exchange for my unbiased review.

September 15, 2014

A September Bride



















The latest story in the Year of Weddings series is written by Kathryn SpringerA September Bride tells the tale of Annie Price, a young woman, who grow up in foster homes and is simply looking for a place to put down roots and call home.

Annie is asked to move to Red Leaf, Wisconsin to manage a book store, by a friend she meet through an on-line book club.  Her friend, Lorena Kent, wants to retire and needs someone to pick up the management of her bookstore.

Annie quickly settles into town.  She loves everything about this town, where everyone seems to be so friendly!  When Annie meets her friend's son, Jesse Kent; she meets the first person who is suspicious of her motives.  Jesse is a local police officer and he just does not trust someone coming right out of the blue and landing in his quiet town! 

This is a fun tale as Jesse and Annie quickly get acquainted.  You won't believe where they end up at the end of the story!


I received this book from Thomas Nelson in exchange for my unbiased review


September 7, 2014

Tried and True



















I just finished reading Tried and True, the latest book by Mary Connealy.  She is one of my favorite authors and this one did not disappoint!

You meet Kylie in the Idaho territory in 1866, where she is trying to stake a claim on a homestead.  She is posing as a man, just like she did to serve in the army during the Civil War.  However, this time the land agent, Aaron Masterson, sees through her disguise!

When it appears that some one is trying to run Kylie off her claim, Aaron and Kylie begin to hunt for the culprit.  All Kylie can think about is finishing her claim, so she can sell it and move back east!  Before she knows it, Kylie begins developing feelings for Aaron.  Her plans are quickly going up in smoke!

This is a fun, fast moving tale that will keep you turning page after page.  You will not be able to wait for the next book in the series to be published!


I received this book from Bethany House in exchange for my unbiased review


August 20, 2014

I Quit Sugar















I Quit Sugar by Sarah Wilson is easy to read and is full of beautiful photography.

Sarah begins the book by telling you her story and how much better she felt when she got serious and gave up sugar!

She continues with an 8-week plan, full of encouragement to help you walk this new path.

Finally, Sarah includes over 100 recipes that will help you on your way to this new way of living!


I received this book from Blogging for Books in exchange for my unbiased review

An August Btride





















Debra Clopton tells Kelsey Wilcox's story in An August Bride.

After being left at the altar by her cowboy fiance, Kelsey decides she wants to have nothing to do with the ranch life.  She sets up a bistro on the beach and begins a new life! 

Two years later when Kelsey's cousin decides to get married at the beach, Kelsey finds herself dragged along with all the celebration.  Kelsey still hates weddings, but wants to support her cousin on her big day.  When she meets Brent Corbin, one of the groomsmen, she is immediately drawn to him.  When she learns that Brent is a cowboy who owns a ranch, Kelsey only wants to run as fast as she can away from him!

This is a fun tale as you watch Kelsey struggle between her growing feelings for Brent and her determination to never fall in love with a cowboy again!


I received this book from Thomas Nelson in exchange for my unbiased review

 

August 9, 2014

Evergreen




















Evergreen is the latest tale about the Christiansen family by Susan May Warren.

Ingrid and John are left with an empty home as all their adult children have moved on with new people and new activities in their lives.  Now they must find a way to reconnect!

Sit back and enjoy this short novella as you walk with John and Ingrid and see them learn to build a new bond together as husband and wife!



I received this book from Tyndale House Publishers in exchange for my unbiased review


http://www.tyndale.com/authorphotos/amazon/705/pic_full_warren_susanmay.jpg



July 28, 2014

Prelude for a Lord



















An awkward young woman. 
A haunted young man. 
A forbidden instrument. 
Can the love of music bring them together... or will it tear them apart? 

 Bath, England 1810. At twenty-eight, Alethea Sutherton is past her prime for courtship; but social mores have never been her forté. She might be a lady, but she is first and foremost a musician. 

 In Regency England, however, the violin is considered an inappropriate instrument for a lady. Ostracized by society for her passion, Alethea practices in secret and waits for her chance to flee to the Continent, where she can play without scandal. 

 But when a thief’s interest in her violin endangers her and her family, Alethea is determined to discover the enigmatic origins of her instrument... with the help of the dark, brooding Lord Dommick. 

 Scarred by war, Dommick finds solace only in playing his violin. He is persuaded to help Alethea, and discovers an entirely new yearning in his soul. 

 Alethea finds her reluctant heart drawn to Dommick in the sweetest of duets... just as the thief’s desperation builds to a tragic crescendo...



Prelude for a Lord was the first novel written by Camille Elliot that I have read.  It was a very enjoyable adventure.  This book kept my interest from cover to cover.

Hang on as Alethea and Dommick search to find the thief who seems willing to stop at nothing to obtain Alethea's violin!

 I will definitely return to read more from this author!


  received this book from Zondervan in exchange for my unbiased review




July 18, 2014

A July Bride





















A July Bride by Beth Wiseman is the latest novella in the A Year of Weddings series.

You meet Alyssa Pennington as she is walking down the aisle with her father.  She has no idea that the love of hr life, Brendan Myers, is about to run and leave her at the altar!

As Alyssa returns her wedding gifts and her beloved wedding dress, her life becomes even more complicated.   Her brother Alex's friend, Dalton, throws his hat in the ring and asks Alyssa to go to dinner with him.

Hang on and see where Alyssa will go with this new opportunity God has placed in her life!



I received this book from Thomas Nelson in exchange for my unbiased review




July 13, 2014

When I Fall in Love




















The latest chapter in the Christiansen Family is shared in When I Fall in Love by Susan May Warren.  You will meet Grace as she is traveling to a cooking retreat in Hawaii.  Grace is a homebody, so you instantly realize that she is not in her comfort zone!

At the beginning of her trip, Grace meets Maxwell Sharpe, the man sitting beside her on the plane.  After he helps her overcome her motion sickness during the flight, Grace knows she has found a great traveling partner.

Grace and Maxwell take you along on their journey together: Grace learning to do things she has never done before (snorkeling and surfing) and Maxwell, falling in love for the first time!

When everything seems to be falling into place, a secret from Max's past comes to light and Max runs!

The book had me turning page after page to come to the conclusion of Grace and Max's tale.  It was a journey worth taking!


I received this book from Tyndale House Publishers in exchange for my unbiased review

http://www.tyndale.com/authorphotos/amazon/705/pic_full_warren_susanmay.jpg




July 2, 2014

The Bridge Tender




















I did not enjoy the first book I read by Marybeth Whalen, so I thought I would give another one a try.  I am glad I did.  I just finished The Bridge Tender and I loved it!

You meet Emily, a young widow, who is trying to cope with the loss of her husband, Ryan, after barely five years of marriage.  Shortly after Ryan's funeral, Emily learns that her husband had been secretly putting money towards a life insurance policy, in case the unthinkable happened.  Ryan left Emily with $500,000 to buy herself a house at the beach!

A year later, Emily finally heads out to Sunset Beach to purchase a new house.  Emily and Ryan had honeymooned there and had always dreamed of having a home there someday to visit from time to time.  Now Emily needs to find a place to start building her life again!

First, Emily finds a house to call home.  Next, she meets a young girl who is need of some serious help with life.  Finally, she meets a man who has experienced a loss as great as hers!

This is a very enjoyable read as you journey with Emily through this very difficult event in her life.


I received this book from Zondervan in exchange for my unbiased review

 

 

June 28, 2014

A June Bride





















A June Bride written by Marybeth Whalen was not as enjoyable to read as the previous novellas in the A Year of Weddings series.

The author tells the tale of Wynne Hardy, a woman who after a breakup  becomes part of a realty show.  Although Wynne chooses a man to marry, she learns that life is not a bed of roses.

When her new fiance becomes involved with another realty show star and her ex-boyfriend re-enters the picture, Wynne is faced with an important decision to make!



I received this book from Thomas Nelson in exchange for my unbiased review

 

June 25, 2014

Seagrass Pier




















Colleen Coble's latest novel Seagrass Pier opens with Elin Summerall in the midst of a terrible nightmare.  Elin has recently received the heart of a woman who was murdered and Elin keeps reliving the event in the dreams.  Now it seems that this murderer wants to keep Elin quiet!

This novel has a lot of action that keep you turning page after page as Elin and her FBI friend, Marc, are trying to hunt down this murderer before he makes Elin his next victim.

Enjoy the action-filled conclusion as Elin and Marc finally discover that the man stalking Elin is a lot closer that she would have guessed!

I received this book from Thomas Nelson in exchange for my unbiased review

 

June 11, 2014

Stuck Together





















Stuck Together is the final book in the Trouble In Texas series by Mary Connealy

I have always enjoyed reading Mary Connealy's novels; however, reading Stuck Together proved difficult for me.  I was not drawn into the storyline until I was about 100 pages into the book!

I have not read the first 2 books in this series yet; however, this last book seemed to draw all 3 books together to a final conclusion.


I received this book from Bethany House in exchange for my unbiased review



June 4, 2014

Four Weddings and a Kiss




















Four Weddings and a Kiss is a recent novel written by four of my favorite Christian authors.  Each of these novellas take you to a different place and time to meet some very interesting characters!

First, Mary Connealy tells the story of Maizy and Rylan in Spitfire Sweetheart. You discover that after Rylan breaks his leg trying to save Maisy from a grizzly bear, Maizy attempts to help him save his ranch.  Before they know it, they have fallen in love with each other!  You know that wedding bells are not far ahead!

Second, you meet Molly and Jack in A Love Letter to the Editor, written by Robin Lee Hatcher.  Molly is upset that her father gave the job of editor of their local newspaper to someone new, Jack, instead of to her.
Enjoy this tale as Molly learns that good gifts sometimes come where bad is expected!

Next, you are introduced to Katie and Treb in A Cowboy for Katie, written by Debra Clopton.  Katie had just lived through a terrible tornado, that unfortunately killed her father and destroyed her home!  The entire town is calling her crazy Katie for the way she keeps talking to herself and threatens the men who come calling.  When Treb arrives in town after his horse dies, he needs both a job and new horse.  Katie offers him both. This is a sweet story as Treb helps Katie overcome the trauma she has endured!

Finally, Margaret Brownley shares her tale about Grace and Brock in Courting Trouble.  After Grace is accused of murdering her husband, her son, Jesse, begs the newest lawyer in town, Brock Daniels, for help!  You will enjoy this story as Brock goes against the backwards law in this small western town!


I received this book from Thomas Nelson in exchange for my unbiased review


May 27, 2014

A May Bride




















On the opening pages of A May Bride, written by Meg Moseley, you meet Ellie Martin.  The reader finds her in a precarious situation!

Ellie is gardening at a local church, in an attempt to relieve stress in her life; when suddenly she is surrounded by a group of people trying to conduct a spontaneous wedding!  She recognizes a handsome man in the group, he is often at a local coffee shop at the same time she is.  He catches her eye and Ellie's world is turned upside down! 

Ellie learns that this man's name is Gray Whitby and before she knows it, he asks her on a date. Ellie has been dreaming about her wedding for years and know it seems she has found the perfect man!  All seems great except for the fact the Ellie's mother has chased off Ellie's boyfriends in the past.

Enjoy this easy to read tale about Ellie and Gray's journey toward their wedding day through some very complicated family situations!




I received this book from Thomas Nelson in exchange for my unbiased review


May 18, 2014

The Heart's Pursuit





















Take a journey with Silver Matlock and Jared Newman across the wild, wild West in the latest by Robin Lee Hatcher, The Heart's Pursuit

After Silver is jilted at the altar by Bob Cassidy, a man who just swindled her family of the last of her father's fortune; she just wants to make things right.  When she meets up with Jared, a bounty hunter, she hires him to help her track down her former fiance.  Silver only wants to save her family from financial ruin!

Silver and Jared set out on horseback to make the difficult trek to try to locate Bob.  Throughout their journey, they meet a lot of new people and make some new friendships.  When they finally meet up with Bob again, they find no resolution.  It only sends them searching for a new target, a man who has everything to do with both Silver and Jared!

This is a light, easy summer read that will take you away for awhile!

I received this book from Zondervan in exchange for my unbiased review

 

 

May 15, 2014

Until I Found You




















Until I Found You is the latest novel by Victoria Bylin.  She tells the story of Kate Darby, who must leave her promising career to go to the aid of her grandmother Leona, who has just experienced a stroke.  When Kate meets Nick Sheridan on her way into town, her life is changed forever!

Earlier in her life, Kate had lost both of her parents and cannot bear to think of losing her grandmother.  Not only has she met the man of her dreams, she also begins a journey to find God and understand that He alone will never leave her or forsake her!

It was interesting to watch Kate and Nick walk together through this major event in Kate's life.  Throughout Leona's recovery, she writes down the tale of her own walk with Kate's grandfather and more importantly, with God!  She wants to share this truth with Kate before anything else takes away her ability to.

I wish this story would have focused more on the story between Kate and Leona than on the romance between Kate and Nick; however, it was worth the time to read this tale!


I received this book from Bethany House in exchange for my unbiased review


May 2, 2014

An April Bride




















An April Bride was written by Lenora Worth.  This short novella tells the story of Stella and Marshall and their struggle with the trouble that comes their way when Marshall returns from war, wounded and lost.  He cannot remember the details of his former life! 

Walk with them both through these pages as they find their way back to each other, with the help of an awesome God!

I have enjoyed all the books in the A Year Of Weddings series so far; however, I found this book hard to read.  The words just did not seem to flow as easily! 


I reeived this book from Zondervan in exchange for my unbiased review

 

April 28, 2014

Mark of Distinction





















I had a difficult time reading through the book, Born of Persuasion ,by Jessica Dotta.  The book just did not read easily.  So I thought I would give Jessica Dotta another chance with Mark of Distinction.  Unfortunately, I am finding her second book as difficult to read through as the first in this series!

The books covers are beautiful and draw you into this era in England's history.  I usually enjoy reading books concerning this time and place in history; however, Jessica Dotta's writing style made it a difficult experience for me!


I received this book from Tyndale House Publishers in exchange for my unbiased review

April 20, 2014

A Broken Kind of Beautiful





















A Broken Kind of Beautiful, the latest novel by Katie Ganshert, is a must-read book for anyone who enjoys a great comeback storyline!

The book starts out rather slowly as you are introduced to Ivy Clark and learn the sad details of her start in life.  Following the rejection of her natural father, Ivy is pulled into the world of high fashion where she begins working as a model at the age of fourteen!

After years of working successfully as a model, Ivy is twenty-five years old and there are no jobs on the horizon!  When she returns to the hometown of her father, she is forced to deal with many pains from her past.  She has no idea that God has new plans for her right around the corner!

About half-way through, the pace of this book picks up quite a bit.  Ivy begins to build a friendship with Davis Knight, a photographer who has run away from his life in New York.  You will be surprised by the dark places God leads both Ivy and Davis.  In the end, they will both learn anew about the unfailing love of our God!




I received this book from Waterbrook Multnomah in exchange for my unbiased review


April 18, 2014

A Lady's Honor





















A Lady's Honor is the latest novel by Laurie Alice Eakes.  This book is the first installment of her Cliffs of Cornwall series.

You meet Elizabeth Trelawny, as she is fleeing from the Marquess of Romsford, the man her parents are trying to force her to marry.  The Marquess is definitely not the type of man with whom she wants to spend her life!  Elizabeth thinks that the man, who rescues her, is her brother, Drake; only to find that Rowan Curnow has tricked her as he helps her flee to her grandparents home in Cornwall.

Elizabeth arrives at Bastion Point only to find that everything is amiss.  Her brother, Drake, is in the process of being shipped to America, to avoid being killed by local smugglers; her cousin, Morwenna, is pregnant by a man she will not name and her dear friend, Conan Penvensn, has been killed!

Join Elizabeth and Rowan as they try to discover who is responsible for the unrest in this corner of Cornwall.  Along the way, Elizabeth also discovers the unconditional love that God alone has for her!



I received this book from Zondervan in exchange for my unbiased review









March 28, 2014

A Beauty So Rare




















I hadn't read any Tamera Alexander novels since I completed her Fountain Creek Chronicles series.  I must say by the time I reached the end of A Rare Beauty, I was once again a fan. 

This 470 page novel by Tamera Alexander was longer than my typical read, but I must say I enjoyed every page.  I felt like I was walking with Eleanor Braddock, in every every moment, as she placed her aging father in an institution that could look after his needs much better than she could; and then, find a way to move on with her life.  Not an easy task it seems as a single 30-year-old woman in late 18th century Nashville.  Enjoy the journey with Eleanor as you learn what God had planned for her!

I will look forward to reading the other novels in Tamera Alexander's Belmont Mansion series!


I received this book from Bethany House in exchange for my unbiased review






March 22, 2014

Bluebonnet Bride





















Upon reading Bluebonnet Bride, the latest novella written by Colleen Coble, I was pleasantly surprised to find that it continues the story Colleen began in her recent novel, The Butterfly Palace.

Bluebonnet Bride tells the story of Elli Korpela, who has left her homeland of Finland, to come to America and meet the man she hopes to build a new life with. Unfortunately, her new life does not begin as quietly as she had hoped.

The life she is running from contained her father, who was murdered, and her neighbor, who is trying to steal her inheritance.  After a man tries to strangle Elli, on the night of her wedding, her new husband, Nathan White, learns the whole story.  He is determined to protect Elli from all potential harm!

This is a short tale that will keep you turning page after page to learn the conclusion of who is after Elli and what they want!


I received this book from Thomas Nelson in exchange for my unbiased review

 




March 10, 2014

The Stillness of Chimes




















The Stillness of Chimes is the latest novel by Meg Moseley

Laura Gantt is back in her hometown of Prospect, Georgia, a month after her mother's unexpected death.  Laura is a teacher back in Denver, so she has the summer available to attend to sorting out her mother's belongings. 

Laura meets up with Sean Halloran shortly after returning to town.  Sean is a dear friend from her past who wants to prepare her for the rumors that have been spreading around town.  People have had sightings of her father, Elliot Gantt.  The only problem is he drowned twelve years ago!

Sean does not believe these rumors are true; however, Laura cannot let go of the hope that her dearly loved Father is alive.   Walk on this journey with Laura and Sean as they revisit memories from their past and discover how they fit into their current lives!



I received this book from Waterbrook Multnomah in exchange for my unbiased review




March 2, 2014

A March Bride





















I was pleasantly surprised when I started reading A March Bride, by Rachel Hauck and found it was the continuation of Once upon a Prince from The Royal Wedding Series!

In this latest novella, you will join Susanna and Nathaniel as they continue to prepare for their wedding in the Brighton Kingdom.  When the government insists that Susanna give up her American citizenship, she needs time to decide whether she is willing to make this sacrifice!

When Susanna runs back to America to be around friends and family as she thinks things through, Nathaniel is not far behind!  Enjoy this journey as Susanna learns to trust in what God may have planned for her life!




I received this book from Thomas Nelson in exchange for my unbiased review

 

 

Dancing with Fireflies





















You meet Jade McKinley again in Dancing with Fireflies, the latest novel by Denise Hunter.  You instantly feel Jade's pain as she quietly returns home.  Her time in Chicago was full of broken dreams.  Not only did her music career not take off, a man she barely knew has left her pregnant!

Jade returns to Chapel Springs; however, she is doing her best to avoid her family.  She can't tell them what has happened to her!  She does reach out and renews her friendship with Daniel Dawson, the town mayor.  Jade has no idea that Daniel has secretly been in love with her from afar!

Enjoy this tale that will walk you through Jade learning to trust God with these complications in her life.


Get ready for the next installment in this series, The Wishing Season!  It will be available in December.


I received this book from Thomas Nelson in exchange for my unbiased review

February 18, 2014

The Pursuit of Tamsen Littleton






















Through the pages of The Pursuit of Tamsen Littlejohn, you will get a glimpse of what life was like during the early days of America.  The author, Lori Benton, will have your attention from page one.

The reader is quickly drawn to Tamsen, when you learn that her stepfather, Hezekiah Parrish, is looking for the highest bidder to sell his stepdaughter to.  As Tamsen runs from her stepfather, she lands in the arms of Jesse Bird and the adventure begins!

Tamsen and Jesse are merely looking for a safe place to hide; however, they are having trouble staying more than a few steps ahead of her stepfather. Hezekiah is determined to stop Tamsen from telling anyone that he was the one who killed her mother.

You will definitely enjoy this tale. You will not believe it when the truth finally comes out on the last pages of this book!


I received this book from Waterbrook Multnomah in exchange for my unbiased review


February 10, 2014

The PR1ME of Life








PR1ME of Life is the first book by P.D. Bekendam.  This new author is also a practicing eye surgeon.  All proceeds from his book sales will go to fund his work, helping to bring cataract surgery to those in need in developing countries.


The author quietly introduces you to Ben, who is working as a janitor in a retirement center.  What no one knows is that Ben was recently a cardiothoracic surgeon! 

Ben left his practice, after circumstances pushed him into a situation where he was performing emergency heart surgery on his own bother!  When his brother suddenly dies during the surgery, Ben needs a major change in life.  He looks for a place of not stress!  He finds it at Heritage Gardens, where he meets a group of quirky, yet lovable residents.

You will enjoy Ben’s journey as he deals with some very difficult situations.

This was a challenging book for me to read initially; however, midway through, I found myself cheering for positives to come to Ben’s life!  You will be surprised by the end, when he finds the love of his life; however, most importantly, Ben finally understands that God really loves him and is control of all the details of his life!


I received this book from Worthy Publishing in exchange for my unbiased review.