June 23, 2013

Stealing the Preacher

Stealing the Preacher  -     
        By: Karen Witemeyer

Stealing the Preacher by Karen Witemeyer kept me turning page after page to discover how the story would end!

The story begins with Crockett Archer travelling to Brenham, Texas.  He is hoping and praying that he will be continuing his life as the new preacher in town.  His dreams are swiftly interrupted when the train is held up by men looking to kidnap a preacher!

Silas Robbins is looking for a birthday gift for his daughter, Joanna and she wants a preacher.  Little does he know she is looking for a preacher to reform her father!  Joanna had promised her mother before she died that she would continue to encourage her father to surrender his life to God.  Their local church had set empty for far too long.  Joanna wants to fill the pulpit with a man to join her in her efforts to reform her father.

When Crockett loses his opportunity to work as a preacher in Brenham, he decides to join Joanna in her cause to restore the small chapel that sits empty in her community. 

You won’t believe the events that follow after Joanna asks her father to hire Crockett as an extra hand on his ranch.  You will meet Jackson, the young boy who works at the ranch as well and is always getting into trouble.  Then, you meet Neill, Crockett's fiddle playing younger brother who stops in for a visit.  Finally, you meet Holly Brewster, the beautiful young lady who can’t keep her eyes and hands off of the new preacher! 

You won't be able to put this book down until you discover where God will lead Crockett and Joanna at the end of their crusade!!!

June 18, 2013

A Bride For All Seasons

A Bride for all Seasons is a book packed full of fun stories about four different women on their journey to meet the men God will use to change their lives!

In first story “And Then Came Spring” by Margaret Brownley, you meet mail-order bride Mary-Jo Parker. 

When Mary Jo arrives in Colton, Kansas, she makes a shocking discovery.  The man she was supposed to marry is dead!  

She had been corresponding with Dan for months.  However, he had left out one important detail when they made plans to marry; a young son comes along with deal!!!  Mary Jo is still adjusting to this young boy when soon meets Sheriff Tom Garrett, her dead fiancĂ©’s brother.  The story gets very interesting at this point!

Next, you’ll meet Ellie in An Ever-After Summer” by Debra Clopton. 

After losing both of her parents shortly after her birth, Ellie is looking to start a new chapter in her life.  She answers an ad placed by widower Matt McConnell who is looking for someone to help raise his 2 year old daughter.

Matt wrote his ad with no room for misunderstanding—Bible believers need not apply. When Ellie shows up in town carrying her Bible, Matt’s so desperate for her help that he accepts!

What follows is a fun tale as Matt and Ellie start to learn the truth about each other!

You are introduced to Luvena Abbott in “Autumn’s Angel” by Robin Lee Hatcher as she travels with her nieces and nephew to meet her intended, Clay Birch.

Clay has shock of his life as he was expecting he future wife to arrive with no children! 

Luvena and Clay have some big decisions to make concerning how to move ahead.  Will Luvena become his employee at his new theater or become his new wife?

In “Winter Wedding Bells” Mary Connealy, you meet Megan McBride. 

She has come to Chicago to meet her future husband and his 2 young boys.  Megan is taken by surprise when she meets a father looking for someone to care for his sons because he thinks he is dying!!!

The family begins a trip across America to their home in Wyoming.  On the way, Megan realizes her new husband is quite wealthy and also that he is not dying!  Megan still can see life in his eyes.  Now she just has to convince him that God may have more time for him here on earth!

I received this book from Thomas Nelson in exchange for my unbiased review

June 6, 2013

Ripples Along The Shore

Ripples Along the Shore

Ripples Along The Shore by Mona Hodgson tells the story of Caroline Milburn. 

Caroline is a widow, after her husband died in the Civil War.  Following the death of her aunt, she returns to her hometown of St. Charles, Missouri to live with her sister, Jewel, and her family.

Caroline feels at odds, not really knowing where her place is in this “new” life.  Shortly after returning home, she decides she wants to join the group that is forming to travel west.  She is excited about this new adventure!

When she announces her desire to join the group, their leader, Garrett Cowlishaw, forbids a single woman to be added to the others!

This story comes to an abrupt ending, but I hope Mona Hodgson is planning to continue this story in some future novel.
I received this book from Waterbrook Multnomah in exchange for my unbiased review