December 31, 2013

The Headmistress of Rosemere

It was fun to revisit William Sterling in The Headmistress of Rosemere by Sarah E. Ladd

William was a scoundrel in The Heiress of Winterwood; but in her latest novel, Sarah develops his character in such a way that you can understand why he has made so many poor choices thus far in his life.

The story opens with William being chased down and horribly beaten, due to a large amount of money he owes.  He ends up in the stable of Rosemere, a girls private school, to whom he leases a plot of his land.  Thus begins the story of his friendship with Patience Creighton, the headmistress of this school.  Still single at the age of 25, Patience considers herself a spinster.  She has no idea what is to come after she meets William!

Hang on for the ride as William and Patience develop their friendship and in the last pages of this story, learn of a dark secret from William’s past that touches them all!

I received this book from Thomas Nelson in exchange for my unbiased review


December 8, 2013

A December Bride

A December Bride is the latest novella by Denise Hunter.  This is a fun, easy-to-read-story, like only Denise Hunter can tell!  

Former friends, Layla O’Reilly and Seth Murphy, find themselves in a circumstance where they must pretend they are engaged.  Layla needs time to land a new job and Seth (who has been secretly in love with Layla for years) needs time to convince her of his love!

Hang on for this ride as these friends discover each other again and learn so much more!

I received this book from Thomas Nelson in exchange for my unbiased review

December 7, 2013

Carolina Gold

In Dorothy Love's latest novel, Carolina Gold, Charlotte Fraser and Nicholas Betancourt meet as they both are trying to find the answer about ownership to some land in South Carolina (they each feel they are entitled to). In those times, shortly after the Civil War, answers were hard to find! 

This novel was not as easy to read as Dorothy Love’s previous novels; however, it is worth the time to learn the final answer!!

I received this book from Thomas Nelson in exchange for my unbiased review

October 21, 2013

I, Saul

Jerry Jenkins brings the following scripture to life in his newest novel titled I, Saul.

2 Timothy 9-12
Do your best to come to me quickly, for Demas, because he loved this world, has deserted me and has gone to Thessalonica. Crescens has gone to Galatia, and Titus to Dalmatia.  Only Luke is with me.  Get Mark and bring him with you, because he is helpful to me in my ministry.  I sent Tychicus to Ephesus.  When you come, bring the cloak that I left with Carpus at Troas, and my scrolls, especially the parchments.

As always, Jerry Jenkins has filled this novel full of suspense and action as he moves between current day and 1st century Rome.  First, you will follow Augustine Knox, a young seminary professor, from Texas to Italy, as he rushes to the distress call of a dear friend.  Then, you will find yourself in a dark dungeon, as Luke hurries to the side of his dear friend, Paul, the apostle. 

So many details will come out of both storylines.  Hang on for a wild ride!!!!!

I received this book from Worthy Publishing in exchange for my unbiased review


October 12, 2013


Beloved is the final book in the Where the Heart Lives series by Robin Lee Hatcher.  

Each book in this series tells the tale of one of 3 children who are orphaned, following the deaths of their parents.  Beloved focuses on the youngest child, Diana Brennan.  Shortly after her marriage to Tyson Applegate, she is left stranded in his parents home.  Tyson is running in anger from his father's controlling ways.

 Suddenly, Tyson returns 6 years later, on the eve of the official announcement of his "death" and her new engagement!  Tyson quietly reveals to Diana that he has changed and he asks for a trial period to prove it to her!  He asks her to live with him as man and wife "in-name-only" for 6 months as he runs for US senator.  At the end of this time, she will be free to go with her life without him, if she so chooses.

The story gets very interesting as Tyson must humbly bow to Diana in an attempt to prove his love for her!!!

I received this book from Thomas Nelson in exchange for my unbiased review

October 6, 2013

Gunpowder Tea

Gunpowder Tea

Gunpowder Tea is the final book in Margaret Brownley’s Brides of Last Chance Ranch series.

Miranda Chance is traveling to take the job as “heiress” at the ranch.  She is planning to work uncover as a Pinkerton agent.  Her goal is to find and arrest the Phantom, an elusive train robber.  She finally arrives at the Last Chance ranch, after being involved in a train robbery herself, only to cause her new employer to fall down the stairs and break her leg!  Not a good start at her “new job”.

As a thorough detective, Miranda checks out all of the other employees on the ranch.  She is thrown for a loop when one of the train robbers shows up for work!  He is going by the name of Mr. Branch.  However, Miranda has no idea that he is really Jeremy Taggart of the Well Fargo detective agency!

Hang on for a wild ride as these two detectives, unbeknownst to one another, chase after the identity of the “phantom”.

I received this book from Thomas Nelson in exchange for my unbiased review  

September 12, 2013

365 Pocket Devotions

In our crazy lives, we all need a little reminder to stop and turn our eyes to the Truths of God!

Chris Tiegreen has that reminder for us in his latest devotional, 365 Pocket Devotions.  This small book will lead you each day to take a few moments to Reflect on some truth of God’s word.  Chris will guide you through some thoughts and then, end the entry with an appropriate verse from the Bible.

This is a great way to start you day with your mind set on God’s truths!!!!!

I received this book from Tyndale House Publishers in exchange for my unbiased review

September 11, 2013

He Knows Your Name

He Knows Your Name written by Travis Cottrell may look like a “coffee table” book; but when you open it up, you find that it contains so much more! 

Through these pages, Travis encourages you:     

    • To accept the surprises that God brings to your life.
    • To worship God with all your spirit, soul and body.
    • To remember that God’s plans are for blessings, even in the midst of struggles.
    • To use your God-given gifts and talents every day of the week.
    • To forgive others when the words they say are cruel and wounding.
    • To trust God, even in your most fearful moments
    • To surrender yourself and your will to God, trusting He knows what is “next” for your life.

Each chapter ends with questions that will help you reflect on and apply the encouragement Travis has shared.

This book will spur you on as you walk this path, called life, with God.

I received this book from Worthy Publishing in exchange for my unbiased review